Managing Users, Groups and Permissions

    This article demonstrates how to add, modify and delete users, groups and permissions for your Teem account from within the admin dashboard.

    Last updated: November 14th, 2019

      Global Admins have the ability to add, modify and delete individual user accounts, groups, and permissions for your Teem account. 

      Access to Teem's platform features are dependent on the permission user accounts are assigned to. Access permissions are granted and configured on a group level rather than a user account level.


      Create New Users

      There are several ways to create new users in Teem. Teem allows admins to create new users using one of several SAML and SSO options. Our SAML and SSO articles can help you with automated user creation.  You can use SSO or SAML on the same account and can use this method if you need to have users with different domain names.  If you would like to create new users using a CSV, simply cont our support team with "Create New Users CSV Upload" in the Subject Line.  We will make the changes on the back-end to populate your new users.

      Even if you use Single Sign-On, you might want to manually add users on occasion. Add users by doing the following:

      1. From the Teem Dashboard homepage, select Manage > Users > User Directory.

      2. From the Users screen, select ADD USER.

      3. In the New User view, enter the following information:

      • Activate user account - Toggle this button to confirm the activation of this account.
      • First Name
      • Last Name
      • Email 
      • Phone Number
      • Assign a Location - Select the location where this person will be based out of.
      • Groups & Roles - Toggle the "Make Global Admin" button if this person needs global access. Global admins are given access to all Teem permissions regardless of individual permissions applied to assigned groups.
      • Assigned Groups - When a user is created or added to your company account, it is not assigned any special permission. Select from the list which group you would like the person to belong to. Access is dictated by the Group permissions a user is assigned to.

      4. Select CREATE when you're done.

      By default, when a user is created, it is not assigned any permissions or automatically assigned to be part of any group. If a user is not part of a group, they will only be able to see the Employee Tools section of the dashboard when they sign in.


      Modify/Delete Existing User Information

      You can easily manage individual accounts and modify account information, permissions, and other details:

      1.  From the Teem Dashboard homepage, select Manage > Users > User Directory.

      2. From the User screen, use the Search or Filter features to find the account you want to manage.3. Select the account name to view the details and edit Group & Roles, Location Information, and other user-related details.

      4. Select UPDATE after making changes.

      To delete a user, select DELETE USER from the user account details screen. This action will result in removing all user account information and is unrecoverable.


      Create User Groups

      Teem uses Group Permissions to provide permission/access to certain features. User accounts are then assigned to a group to control access. Create groups by doing the following:

      1. From the Teem Dashboard homepage, select Manage > Users > Groups & Permissions.

      2. From the Groups & Permissions screen, select ADD GROUP.

      4. From the New User Group view, enter the new group details. Group Settings are separated by permission types:

      • Group Name 
      • Description - Provide a note on how best to describe the group.

          Organization Permissions

      • Edit Organization - The toggled is disabled by default. If enabled, users assigned to the group can edit your organization information.

          User Permissions

      • Edit Users -  If enabled, users assigned to the group can edit/manage other user accounts.
      • Edit Groups - If enabled, users assigned to the group can edit/manage group information.

          Visitors & Reception Displays (LobbyConnect) Permissions

      • Edit Contracts and Visitors - If enabled, users assigned to the group can manage visitor contracts, visitor types, visitor logs, and visitor watchlist.

          Auto Check-In Permissions

      • Auto Check-In Enabled - If enabled, users can bypass the check-in functionality and will auto check them into their meetings.

          Pre Registration Permissions

      • View All Visitors - If enabled, users assigned to the group can view visitors for all users.

          Deployment Permissions

      • Edit Deployment - If enabled, users assigned to the group can add/edit devices and device alerts in the deployment.
      • Edit Organization Structure - If enabled, users assigned to the group can view and edit themes.
      • Edit Broadcast Alerts - If enabled, users assigned to the group can view/edit/send device broadcasts.

          Reports/Analytics Permissions

      • Edit Analytics Data - If enabled, users assigned to the group can post/update analytics data.
      • View Organization Insight - If enabled, users can access the Insights app to see organization-wide analytics.
      • Edit Report Settings - If enabled, users can edit report settings.
      • View Workplace Analytics - If enabled, users can view workplace analytics.
      • View Visitor Analytics - If enabled, users can view visitor analytics.

          Billing Permissions

      • Make Purchases - If enabled, users can view and make a purchase from the store.

      5. Once the permissions are set and the information for the group is entered, select SAVE. You'll be taken back to the Groups & Permissions page where you’ll see your newly created group listed.


      Modify/Delete Existing Groups

      Group permission and details can be modified anything by doing the following:

      1. From the Teem Dashboard homepage, select Manage > Users > Groups & Permissions.

      2. From the Groups & Permissions screen, use the Search feature to find the Group you need to edit.

      3. Select the Group name to view the group detail view. Select SAVE CHANGES after making your updates.

      To delete a group, from the Permissions and Group screen, select the delete icon next to the group name.


      Adding Users to a Group

      User permissions are controlled by the Group a user account is assigned under. This is because permissions are controlled on the Group level, not by user account.

      1.  From the Teem Dashboard homepage, select Manage > Users > User Directory.

      2. From the User screen, use the Search or Filter features to find the account you want to manage.3. Select the account name to view the details. Scroll down to the Assigned Groups section. 

      4. Select or search for the Group from the list. You can assign more than one group with different permission types.

      4. Select UPDATE after making changes.




      Was this article helpful?

      Send feedback

      Get In Touch With Us

      Start a Support Ticket